12
Oct
07

Pick a name

I recently had a Caramel Frappuccino at Starbucks. I’m told I shouldn’t go there, but I should rather support smaller companies. I reckon that makes sense, although they can’t make a Frappuccino. On the other hand, smaller companies probably don’t charge you 6,- EUR for a beverage and a cookie either. But do they play Sarah McLachlan’s Adia on their speakers? I don’t think so!

Anyway, the reason for this entry is that the guy at the counter asked me what name to put on my plastic cup, so I told him my name. I’m not sure why. Did he actually imply that he wanted to write my name on the cup? No.

On the one hand, I value my privacy and I don’t like giving out my personal information. Yet, if I meet someone in person and they show the least interest in who I am and what I’m about, I’m quick to tell them my life story and all the crazy ideas I’ve been thinking about. I’m chatty as long as I have an audience.

Nevertheless, the barista (as they’re called these days, although he wasn’t actually the one making the coffee) didn’t care about my life story. He just wanted to write something on my cup, not unlike a nurse would do for a urine sample. (This might be my worst simile yet.)

Next time when the guy in the green apron asks me “what name should I put down?”, I’ll just pick one. Ani, maybe, or Kaki, or one he’ll be able to spell correctly.

2 Responses to “Pick a name”


  1. 1 Analía
    December 6, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Nächstes Jahr kommt Starbucks nach Argentinien! Ich bin gespannt.
    Übrigens: wie würdest du “Ich bin gespannt” ins Englische übersetzen?

  2. 2 vannade
    December 7, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Hmm, ganz wörtlich geht das meines Erachtens nicht, aber man könnte sagen: “I’m excited!” oder “I’m looking forward to that,” oder “I wonder how that’ll turn out” oder “Let’s see what that will be like,” oder einfach: “I’ll be their first customer and I’ll oder a Frappuccino and tell them my name is ‘Vanna'”. :)


Leave a Reply

